Urchin of the Riding Stars (The Mistmantle Chronicles Book One)

By: M.I. McAllister


(1 customer review)

On a night of riding stars, a tiny squirrel is found abandoned and close to death on a distant beach. Adopted and raised by a kindly, eccentric squirrel, Urchin has no idea of his powerful destiny or of the way he will influence the island of Mistmantle.

SKU: 9781948959230 Categories: , Tag:

Product Description


The rule of the good King Brushen and Queen Spindle is threatened by an evil plot from within the court. When their young prince is found murdered, the isle is thrown into turmoil. Behind the scenes, the wicked Lord Husk and Lady Aspen are determined to take control. But to underestimate the power of the islanders and the ancient prophecies is a big mistake…

Triumphant heroes and brilliantly wicked villains do battle in this heart-stopping adventure in the great tradition of Watership Down and The Wind in the Willows.

Glorious new illustrations by Christine Enright capture the spirit of Urchin, and the world of Mistmantle.


Titles in Series: 

Urchin of the Riding Stars
Urchin and the Heartstone
The Heir of Mistmantle
Urchin and the Raven War 
Urchin and the Rage Tide

Additional Information

Weight .8 kg
Dimensions 6 × 9 × .5 in

M.I. McAllister




Purple House Press




Mismantle Chronicles

1 review for Urchin of the Riding Stars (The Mistmantle Chronicles Book One)

  1. MHRafael

    We LOVE LOVE LOVE this book. It just started with 1 chapter read aloud every night with my 8 and 9 year old kids back then, but we just can’t help but read more than that! The kids were always begging me to read more chapters every night! I myself can’t put down the book as it’s soo addicting! The story was beautifully laid out, written in a rich language, and engages the reader to extend their imagination as they try to reach the characters’ thoughts, feelings, and sensibilities. May I also add that it’s a spiritual-based book as the characters (squirrels, hedgehogs, etc) values prayer at all times, as well as integrity, loyalty, honesty, helpfulness, and much more.

    We finished all 5 books series from borrowing in the library. But it was THAT good you will want to read it all over again so we started buying our own copies to add to our home libray. I cant forget that I even cried with the kids while reading near the end part of Book 5! Though it seems like McAllister put an end to the series on book 5, still hoping she could continue to add more in the series.

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like…


Go to Top