The Oresteian Trilogy

By: Aeschylus (Author) Philip Vellacott (Introduction, Translator)


Aeschylus (525-c.456 bc) set his great trilogy in the immediate aftermath of the Fall of Troy, when King Agamemnon returns to Argos, a victor in war. Agamemnon depicts the hero’s discovery that his family has been destroyed by his wife’s infidelity and ends with his death at her callous hand. Clytemnestra’s crime is repaid in The Choephori when her outraged son Orestes kills both her and her lover. The Eumenides then follows Orestes as he is hounded to Athens by the Furies’ law of vengeance and depicts Athene replacing the bloody cycle of revenge with a system of civil justice. Written in the years after the Battle of Marathon, The Oresteian Trilogy affirmed the deliverance of democratic Athens not only from Persian conquest, but also from its own barbaric past.

SKU: 9780140440676 Categories: ,

Product Description

Companion Products

The Oresteian Trilogy Set


Additional Information

Weight .15 kg
Dimensions 5 × 8 × .5 in


Published Date



Aeschylus (Author)
Philip Vellacott (Introduction, Translator)


Penguin Classics




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Oresteian Trilogy”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Go to Top